Week 21

Week 21

This has been such a long week and I've got a lot done!

  • LOST update: no episodes watched, again! Been too busy.
  • Handmaid's Tale continues to be excellent, really thought the pacing of this week's episode in particular was great.
  • I saw four things at Brighton Festival with Adam—Isata Kanneh-Mason, Josie Long, Sofie Hagen, and Eliza and Martin Carthy. The first three were excellent, the latter was... bad. Mixed bag, but it was nice to get to a few festival shows.
  • We also visited Brighton Hippodrome before they close it to make major refurbishments, which was really cool. It hasn't been open since the nineties, when it was used as a bingo hall, and before that it was a theatre from 1901-1967, and before THAT it was an ice rink from 1896.
  • On Monday I went for dinner at my lovely friend Hazel's house, met her partner and housemate, and made some absolutely wonderful Mexican food. I also got to meet Adam's podcast co-host when we went for dinner with him and his girlfriend on Thursday at Purezza—very glad the weather has held up because it meant we could eat outside without being cold which was much appreciated.
  • Adam and I also had some incredible food at The Chilli Pickle, somewhere I've wanted to go for ages, on Friday. Highly recommend!
  • I bumped into my friend Daryl, who I went to sixth form with, while I was out with a friend on Friday evening. I haven't seen him in about 5 years so it was really lovely to have a brief catch up, to meet his girlfriend, and to hear about the places they've looked at in Brighton ahead of moving! He'll be at the Fringe with his comedy group, The Biscuit Barrel, and they're definitely worth checking out.
  • I went to see a friend from church on Sunday afternoon to help her work out what to grow in her garden, which should be a fun project! Very glad to be getting to know people at church better, it's nice to feel like I'm getting involved more.
  • Had some editing work come through on Fiverr which I was very grateful for. Getting increasingly anxious about finding work by July, but I know I'll find something! If anyone happens to see any reporter roles that seem like a good fit, please do let me know.
  • Job interview was fine, but they need someone who can start earlier than I'm able to and they can't move on that. I get it, but it's frustrating to get so far in and to then be told that.
  • I've mentioned this before, but my nomination at the National Diversity part nomination, part judging panel. Very thankful to all the support I've had so far - if you'd like to vote for me please click here.

This week: shows at Brighton Fringe, applying for jobs, and seeing lots of friends!