Week 20

Week 20

I got to go home for the first time since Christmas this week! Expect a lot of cat photos.

  • LOST update: no episodes watched :'(
  • Handmaid's Tale had one of the best episodes this week, I lost my shit watching it – no spoilers, but excellent acting and plot progression.
  • My cat George was exceptionally good all week, and it was so lovely to see him and Bob for the first time since Christmas. Nothing much to report on them other than they're both perfect and I love them.
Look at his little legs!!
  • I went to a pottery night with mum and some friends on Tuesday, which was a lot of fun. We've been to the Pottery Parlour a few times now, and they're so patient at guiding us. Even if someone (me) did need three attempts on the pottery wheel... I made my cat on a stack of books, an oat jug, and a plant pot.
  • My partner and I on Wednesday saw a house we liked, went to view it (with me seeing it over FaceTime), met the landlady and subsequently rejected the house all in one day. As an aside, if anyone has any good resources on shared ownership please let me know!
  • On Thursday, mum and I spent the night with our friend's (and soon to be my godfather's) dogs, Humphrey and Dolly. We took them to the beach, and had a sleepover in the living room with a mattress on the floor because Humphrey's a bit older and struggles with the stairs. We think they're going to want a mattress downstairs and a fire every night now, and it's no less than they deserve.
Humphrey (left) and Dolly (right), looking for sausages. Me (centre) just happy to be there.
  • I went to a vegan animal sanctuary in Ashford, Kent called The Sanctuary with two friends and had the nicest day. We drove there in my friend Gemma's VW Transporter T4, which she's converting to live in and it was really lovely to see it in person. We met so many animals including some very loud cockerels, some peacocks showing off, donkeys, deaf goats, pigs, and a horse rescued from a cull in the New Forest, and we had some amazing vegan food for lunch too. It was about 1.5 hours to drive there from Brighton, but definitely worth the trip.
I loved this goat so much
This incredible vegan breakfast was so filling, and like £8?!
The donkeys. So soft. So affectionate. I love them.
  • Of course, on Saturday night Adam and I watched Eurovision while baking. Personal highlights were Cyprus, San Marino, and the glorious performance from Finland who, in my opinion, deserved to win more than Italy. We started making an apple pie to take to our friends at church but it turns out they take hours to prepare and bake, so we woke up at 7am on Sunday to finish it. They all loved it, which definitely made the early morning worth it.
Very interesting vibes behind the scenes...
Aforementioned apple pie!
  • Still applying for lots of jobs, and I have a job interview this week which I'm very excited about! I also had a really encouraging call with a woman about an upcoming interview for another role. If anyone happens to see any reporter roles that seem like a good fit, please do let me know!
  • I've mentioned this before, but my nomination at the National Diversity part nomination, part judging panel. Very thankful to all the support I've had so far - if you'd like to vote for me please click here.

This week: seeing the Brighton Hippodrome before they convert it, the start of Brighton Festival season and some job interviews.