Week 22

Incredibly busy week last week, hence the late weeknotes!

Week 22

Incredibly busy week last week, hence the late weeknotes!

  • LOST update: none watched.
  • Handmaid's Tale: all kicked off! So close to the end of this season.
  • Adam and I went to see a cool robot drawing selfies at Brighton Met, a true crime reality blurring show called There's A Ghost In My House, a comedian called Pete Wells, a worse comedian called Yuriko Kotani, and an incredible comedian called Nathan Cassidy. Really enjoying Fringe shows, I went in 2019 but didn't see many at all so it's been good to have a lot of busy evenings.
Nathan Cassidy
  • On Tuesday I said goodbye to my friend Am, who's moved to Birmingham for work! I met her through us both working at Bird and Blend, and I'm so grateful to be her friend.
No pictures of Am, but she took this picture of me in Alcampo Lounge and I miss her already
  • On Friday some friends (Girl Gang) came over: Hazel brought some horrendous vegan jelly whiskey shots but she did make beans, so that made up for it.
  • On Saturday morning Adam and I went on a walking tour of Brighton's back passages, where I learnt the word 'twittens' and made a friend called Maia. The three of us went for dinner at Planet India, possibly my favourite restaurant in Brighton.
Still think this is a great drag queen name
  • On Sunday, I had maybe the best day of my life: Adam and I went on the Volks Railway and it was just the most fun experience. I've wanted to go on it since I first visited Brighton three years ago, it was a beautiful day, we were about to walk back to mine along the seafront, but when we saw it was running I couldn't resist. I now want to go on it every time I go into town, but I don't think that would be very cost effective or practical.
BV (before Volks)
AV (after Volks)
  • I also had a really good brown sugar iced latte from Nomad CafĂ©, which was almost as good as the Volks. In fact, the whole weekend was just really lovely!
  • Had another job interview and a couple of rejections, but feeling encouraged by the daily job listings I'm sent from friends and colleagues. If anyone happens to see any reporter roles that seem like a good fit, please do let me know.
Completely unrelated, these were just some good bao buns I had one evening
  • This week: another two Fringe shows, and lots of work!